This should do wonders for the public’s confidence in the Hall Of Fame voting process; Rich Lederer of Baseball Analysts reported the Baseball Writers Association of America opted yesterday to provide membership to a select group of web journalists (link courtesy Repoz and Baseball Think Factory). However, of the 16 names accepted, many are well known from their days in print media and/or television (Jon Heyman, Peter Gammons, Tom Verducci, Ken Rosenthal,Tim Kurkjian, Jayson Stark). And while there’s nothing necessarily wrong with that, Lederer points out that of the 18 writers nominated, Rob Neyer and Keith Law somehow didn’t make the cut. .

Coming on the heels of Marvin Miller being overlooked for the Baseball Hall Of Fame, even the Plug Awards seem more legit. And while I do realize it was the Veteran’s Commitee that chose to recognize Bowie Kuhn rather than Miller, ’tis only natural to question the credibility of the BBWAA’s future votes. Neyer claims he was told “my membership was rejected because I don’t go to the ballpark often enough”, which is a curious criteria. It would be helpful to know exactly what qualifications the BBWAA expects, but the organization’s utterly unhelpful website is pretty light on such information.

(UPDATE : Law’s take on his omission )