As expected, Houston’s Roger Clemens was a landslide winner in voting for the National League Cy Young Award , garnering his 7th such prize and becoming just the 4th hurler to win the award in both leagues (Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Gaylord Perry being the others).

Arizona’s Johnson, loser of 14 games in 2004, and prior 4-time winner of the award, finished 2nd. Were the Unit allowed to stay at home for road games he wasn’t scheduled to pitch (like Clemens), who knows how gaudy his personal statistics might’ve been (while still losing 14 games).